Review of Red Rain by Aubrey Hansen


Government regulations said they had no choice. 17-year-old Philadelphia must stay on Earth in the care of complete strangers while her father is sent against his will to Mars. When a benevolent official allows her to accompany her father, Philadelphia knows she must keep her head down or be sent back to Earth. But when a search for her deceased brother’s Bible leads her into a hallway that isn’t supposed to exist, Philadelphia is faced with a question she doesn’t want to answer – the choice between returning to Earth or destroying it.

Within the first chapter I was impressed by the pace. During the second chapter I realized there was no way I was going to put it down soon, despite that fact the dishes were waiting. And had been waiting. I think I may have honestly told myself, “I’ll just start this new book late at night and then I’ll get to the dishes.”

Quit laughing.

I put it down half-way through only because I’m attempting to break a habit of staying up past 10 o’clock, and it was 11. I finished the rest the next morning, made a gushing note about it on GoodReads, then went to those dishes.

Pacing contributes heavily to an un-put-downable factor, but pace alone does not keep me stuck within a book’s pages. I must feel with the characters, be there inside their heads. Aubrey’s ability to make even minor characters feel rounded and real. I was fully invested in the main character and her goals and problems.

And the story! I feel like giving much beyond the blurb will be a spoiler, but I found it unique and interesting. While some twists I predicted, many more I did not.

Currently, Red Rain is only the third self-published work I think was worth the read. (I’m noticing a pattern of self-pubbed novellas being of better quality than self-published novels.) Niche genre, niche length, well-edited. I didn’t notice a single grammar or spelling error, when I normally catch a neat handful in the most well-edited self-published works. (Aubrey, I know you’re reading this. How’d you do that?) As a unique trait, every couple chapters there are very beautiful illustrations of a character.

4/5 Stars

Purchase on Amazon

About Kathrine Roid

I'm an science fiction and fantasy author living in Texas with an undead parakeet and teleporting cat. Think about that for a moment.

Posted on August 11, 2012, in Christian Speculative Fiction, dystopia, Posts by Genre, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “Aubrey, I know you’re reading this.” You’re making me feel guilty for stalking my book’s reviews. ;)

    Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my book! Your comments were so encouraging. :D As to the editing… The simplistic style of Red Rain was an important factor. The sheer simplicity of the sentence structure makes typos less prevalent. That, and my test-readers tend to catch a few typos. :D That’s why I was confident proofreading Red Rain myself. Peter’s Angel, having a more complex style, needs the safety of a proofreader.

    • You know, SOME authors swear by not reading a single review. ;)

      I had never thought about the level of complexity of a style affecting the ease of editing. **insert head-scratching smiley**

  2. Thanks for the article Review of Red Rain by Aubrey Hansen Fortunately I was looking for

Join the discussion!

