A Twist on Story Starters: Story Enders

Thanks to Louisa’s comment on story starters, I’m posting an unusual twist to the traditional story starter prompt: story enders. Often I will start a story with an ending in mind, and sometimes the ending will come to you first in a story, so story ender prompts are not outrageous.  Try a few.

There was a flower, a daisy, by the side of the road. Ironic.

Why is the flower ironic? What lies beyond the flower? Why is a daisy special? Where does the road go?

I never got rid of the callouses I earned that day.

Obviously, what caused the callouses?

When I woke up, it was just as gray and gloomy as it had been all day. But for the first time I didn’t mind.

What is gray and gloomy? The weather? The house? A magical object? Why did the speaker care before? Why does she not care now? Is it good or bad they don’t care?

She laughed and ran ahead.

Why did she laugh? Was it a happy laugh or a cruel one? Where is she running? On the sea shore? Down the mall isle? This ending doesn’t suggest a setting, so you have free reign of the location.

It wasn’t a problem now, but I couldn’t help but wonder what would have happened if the paperboy had delivered the newspaper on time.

Simply, I like this one.

Feel free to change the tense or point of view of any of these.  Enjoy your story endings.  You could even use these with the story starters from my last post!

About Kathrine Roid

I'm an science fiction and fantasy author living in Texas with an undead parakeet and teleporting cat. Think about that for a moment.

Posted on February 2, 2011, in Creative Writing Prompts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you, Kat! I like SE’s 🙂 Good promts, might use them soon, depending on what I’m working on 🙂

  2. Wow, I’d never thought about working backwards to create a solid story idea… I love it!

    I’m already forming characters in my mind… I may just have to try these. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Awesome!

  4. ~
    It’s fantastic you, the inspiration for story enders, like them, Louisa. I hope they help you finish a few of those WIPs you have!

    ~
    Thank you very much, Aloha. It is a different way of doing things. I’m quite pleased with it. Some people never get to the end of their stories. This fixes that!

    ~
    Also glad you find story enders interesting, Drags.

  5. 🙂 And me, too 🙂 The SE’s that I put on CC prompts I haven’t used yet. I just want to finish something!

Join the discussion!

