Proof I Am a Panster

Evil forget-to-hit-the-final-button-itis. I wrote this yesterday.

A few days ago I heard about this writing challenge called Story A Day. It takes place throughout the month of May, and the goal is to write a complete short story (your definition) each day. The stories can be about anything, so long as you write one a day. “Neat,” I thought, “and during my birthday month too.” I then forgot about it until yesterday afternoon. For some reason I remember. For an odder reason I went to the site. For an odder still reason I joined.

I needed this. Lately I’ve been to to wrapped up in quality to truly write, and I’ve known I’ve needed practice writing concise and complete short stories for a while now. Maybe I’d be more comfortable if I’d actually planned to do Story a Day.

You can keep track of my progress here: http://storyaday.org/scribbling. I will be posting every day with my progress and other randomness. Feel free to take a peak. I won’t be posting the complete stories I write, just snippets, but maybe you’ll find something useful or entertaining anyway.

About Kathrine Roid

I'm an science fiction and fantasy author living in Texas with an undead parakeet and teleporting cat. Think about that for a moment.

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Useful Sites, Writing Communities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good luck. I’m still fighting with a story I wrote in 2009, so I don’t think I’ll play along.

    • Ah, revision? That is the bulk of the process. The majority of challenges out there are geared toward first drafts. It’s a failing, I suppose. Well, don’t be afraid to attempt something new and have a break. Short stories don’t sidetrack you much. πŸ™‚

  2. *rubs chin* Hmm…this sounds like quite a fun challenge. I’m a bit too planner-type to participate, this time around anyways. But I’d certainly like to check it out and follow along in your writing adventure! πŸ™‚ Good luck!

    • Thought this might be appealing to you – it’s like a short story NaNoWriMo!

      I didn’t see any rules on whether or not you could outline all your short stories ahead of time or not, but I do think that majority of the participants are making stories up each day.

      I’ll drag you into it next year. πŸ˜€

  3. Hi, Katir! πŸ˜€

    Well, I seriously haven’t been commenting much on my friends’ blogs recently, I’ve been so busy! But I had to comment on your latest post to say that I’m probably going to do this next year. I thought about it last month but I didn’t hear of it soon enough; and so instead wrote a couple shorts on my own. I was thinking that maybe you could do some short story editing/input with me. I’d be willing to swap shorts and give input if you want to do that. I normally only get on to Holy Worlds Fantasy. Maybe we could do it through Private Message- what do you think of that? I normally prefer not to do anything through email, but private message on either Holy Worlds Science Fiction (I don’t check that as much) or Holy Worlds Fantasy would work. If you’re interested, just let me know! ❀
    Elly

    • Sounds great! The problem is that my life needs to get stuck in a schedule, and I don’t want to commit to anything more when I’m already so busy. I’ll get back to you in a week through Holy Worlds. I really want to make this work, so I probably will. πŸ˜€

Join the discussion!

